Crock Pot Red Beans & Rice

As a reader of this blog there’s something you need to know. I have a fever. And the only cure is my crockpot. I’m in love with  my crockpot. Especially in the autumn season. Man oh man. You may see a whole crock full of slow cooker related recipes on here in the future.. See what I did there?

Never has there been something so sturdy, trustworthy, and magnificently faithful than this glorious appliance. Best. Wedding. Gift. Ever. Now, if you don’t have a crockpot, that’s ok, you now have something to do with your afternoon. Go down to Target and invest in a $35 crockpot. TRUST ME.

But let’s get back to the main thing here, red beans & rice!

The Inspiration:

This recipe was inspired off one ingredient I had to use up in my fridge, spicy chicken sausage. I browsed many recipes and eventually came up with my own version that involved the veggies I already had.

The Cost:

My mom had generously given the sausages to Rich and I a few weeks ago so there was no cost involved there. The only purchase I had to make was the kidney beans (organic on special for $2.99, non organic was around $1.99) and the Cajun seasoning ($2.79). This whole meal will feed us for about 3 days and cost me $6. That’s what I’m talkin’ about!! Even if you had to purchase your sausages, you are looking at about a $10 cost that will feed a lot of mouths (Considering you have some veggies lying around).

I went with this brand of Cajun seasoning because it was the only one I could find at our closest grocery store, although I hear “Slap Your Mama” is one of the best. But this version from Louisiana Fish Fry Products served me very very well:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Recipe:  

Here is the final line up of ingredients:

Brown rice, chicken sausages, cajun seasoning, kidney beans, bell pepper, onion, tomato, garlic. Peppers, onion & tomato courtesy of our Aunt Katie’s garden, yum!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Chop Sausages and veggies like so (veggies into small bits)

 

 

 

 

 

2. Rinse your beans. People say to soak, I just rinsed. That’s the beauty of the crockpot, it does all the work and my beans always turn out just fine.

3. Transfer all ingredients (except for rice ) to crockpot. Add 3 tblsp of cajun seasoning. Add 7 cups of water.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4.  I wish I wish I wish that you could smell the way this smelled once it got cooking. Yankee Candles seriously needs to consider a red beans and rice in the slow cooker flavor.

I cooked my beans on high for 4 hrs and switched to low for 3 hrs after seeing that it was cooking too fast. I would prefer on low for 7 hrs.  Either way take the lid off of the pot during the last 30 min. of cooking to thicken the sauces.

5. When you take the lid off of the pot, begin to cook your rice according to package instructions. Everything should be ready at the same time in this case.

6. Serve over rice and with a little slice of lime cause they were on sale today at the market :o)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You guys. Oh you guys. I want to share this with everyone I love. Everyone deserves to     experience this. I wish you could see the steam raising off the top and smell the smell of it. It was so perfectly seasoned and spicy all thanks to the cajun seasoning.  I think I had 1 or 4 servings, I can’t remember…And there is still PLENTY left over!

Now it’s your turn! Make your own with different, added or omitted veggies, use pork sausage instead of chicken, or no sausage at all! Delightful, easy, cheap, fabulous comfort food, happy fall everyone!

Ingredients: Feel free to alter veggie amount to preference. Hubs doesn’t appreciate too many veggies in his beans…

1 lb dried kidney beans

1 small tomato diced

2 cloves garlic minced

1/4 cup onion chopped

3 mini red/yellow bell peppers chopped

3 tblsp Cajun seasoning

1 cup brown rice (More if you want leftovers)

Combine first 6 ingredients and cook on low for 7 hrs. Remove lid for atleast 30 min and switch to your warming setting. Meanwhile cook your rice. Serve your red beans and sausage over rice with a wedge of lime.

 

8 thoughts on “Crock Pot Red Beans & Rice

  1. You are a dream. I am late to my lunch break because of this, and i couldn’t be happier. i love you. invite me over so you can spill your guts about all the food glory you have in your brain.

  2. Pingback: How Do You Spend Your Free Time? | Finding Our Feet

  3. oh Hilly… I feel so proud reading this… My little cook in the kitchen posting her recipes… Be still my heart! I love you

Leave a Reply

