Hummi? Hummwe? Hummus!

I would like to address a moment in all our lives where we are forced to recognize who our true friends are. Sometimes this happens in 5th grade, when for the first time your bestie picks a boy over you, and sometimes this happens when your friends bring food to a party.

I would call this a defining moment. The moment where you find out which of your friends actually cares about you and which do not. There’s the angel friend who brings her homemade, bubbling, artichoke, jalapeno dip. Or the brie cheese with fig spread and fresh baguette. True friendship.

And then there’s the Benedict Arnold. The one you thought you knew. The one who stumbles in the door and unpacks a market veggie tray full of cracked carrots and grey broccoli and snaps open the tub of ranch, and has the look in her eye, “Come and get it ladies, and don’t you judge me. At least I kept it healthy”.

You may be that girl, the one who brings that veggie tray, but please look me straight in the eye and tell me you’re proud of that moment… I know, impossible.

I’ve been that girl, the one without any time. The one without any motivation. The one without any money. The one who goes to the market to buy the brie cheese for the party and then sees the price and says, “Are you freaking kidding me!?”, and then walks out with a bag of Doritos hoping to play the card that “Everyone secretly loves Doritos!”. Shameful.

But it is time for us to find our redemption. To put back on our gourmet hats. To laugh in the face of the party food challenge, and women of America, I have found our answer! And it is found in a can of chickpeas.

Cost

This can of chickpeas is going to cost you .99-$1.99. Yes, you will have to MAKE this dish. But if you make it ahead it is going to take you literally about 3.5 minutes.  And if you keep the ingredients from my Essentials list, you will have everything you need. You are going to transform this can of beans into homemade, additive free, delicious, impressive, friend loving hummus.

Not only is this so easy but its also a health conscious snack. I have a group of 7 High school age girls that come to my house every month from our youth church. We talk, laugh, pray and eat (Isn’t that a movie title?). One thing is for sure, if they don’t learn anything else, they will learn how to eat healthy snacks at my house. One case in point is when I asked them to bring their own snacks for one of our get togethers. We had the following on my kitchen table:
Chocolate covered pretzels
BBQ chips
Skittles, or was it M&M’s?
DEL TACO. Just straight up burritos and tacos from Del Taco
Celery and homemade ranch (Guess who made that, and guess what no one wanted to finish off?)

Yea..I do my best to keep things healthy and fabulous around here. And here’s how you’re going to do it for your circle.

Recipe

1. Combine 1 can of chickpeas, juice of 1/2 lemon, 1 clove of garlic, few dashes of chili powder or cajun seasoning, and a little bit of salt in a blending device. I use my food processor but it really doesn’t matter. *People also add tahini at this point. I never have that on hand, I don’t think most people do, so I skip it but I’m sure it makes it wonderful.*

2. As you blend your ingredients add olive oil until your hummus is the consistency you desire

3. Add additional seasoning to taste (salt, garlic salt, more chili powder or cajun).

4. Refrigerate  (for best results) before serving.

5. HOW TO MAKE IT LOOK SO FANCY! Transfer to serving dish, drizzle the top with olive oil and sprinkle with paprika.

6. For dippers I encourage you to use things you already have. Cut up tortilla triangles, pretzels, pita chips, tortilla chips, broccoli, carrots, celery, cucumbers, zucchini, or whatever else you come up with.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I served this to my High school girls with the carrots I had lying around and they finished it in about 10 min. flat. No more shameful looks, no more questionable grey vegetables, and no more Del Taco! And it cost you $3 and took you 3 min.to make. You’re welcome.

“Wow Hilary, where did you get this!?”…”Oh just something I whipped up, IN MY SLEEP!”

Ingredients

1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans)

Olive oil (Your preferred amount)

1-2 cloves garlic

1/2 lemon (This is not a make it or break it, although I highly suggest it)

Chili powder or Cajun seasoning (something with a “kick”)

Paprika to make it pretty 🙂

Let me know what YOU do when you’re in a party food bind. How do you keep it simple and save money and dignity? 🙂

One thought on “Hummi? Hummwe? Hummus!

Leave a Reply

