Curried Carrot Soup

It has been a bit of time since I’ve posted. For the last week or so I’ve convinced myself that I should only post when I have some truly gourmet culinary revelation to talk about, but that’s never gonna happen, and that’s not the point of this blog!

The point of this blog is to use what we have! And to get away with using words like, “gonna”. So let’s get back to the basics 🙂

Fall is FINALLY in the air here in Vacaville. Nevermind that it’s 80 degrees and sunny out today, and we’ve only had about 4 days of rain. The leaves are still changing, Halloween is still coming, and the flavors of fall are in full swing! To commemorate the beauty of this holiday season I developed a hearty dish full of flavor and the main inspiration comes from this:


This guy knew what was up. Did you know that carrots, or Daucus Carota,  are known to reduce skin blemishes, even out pigmentation, are the second most popular vegetable next to potatoes, grow year round, and may help lower your risk of heart disease, breast cancer, lung cancer and colon cancer? That must be why Bugs carried them around like they were Cuban cigars.

Carrots are one of the essentials that I keep in my fridge at all times as long as I can help it (more on the essentials soon to come). Not only for the above reasons but because they are so EASY to apply to ANYTHING!

The following are actual conversations that have taken place between Rich and Hilary Harris. Rich plays the plaintiff and Hilary plays the defendant…

“Babe, what are you adding to our breakfast potatoes.. are those carrots?” 

“Babe, what’s in my burrito? Are those carrots?” 

“Babe, what are these orange chunks in my smoothie? Are those carrots?” (Those chunks were completely unintentional by the way)

For juicing, chopping, sauteing or pureeing, carrots are worthy for me to keep around. And they are the star of this post.

The Inspiration

Long story short, I wanted soup. Our vegetable broth had gone bad, our organic potato leek soup had gone bad. We don’t usually buy cans of soup, so what was a girl to do. Go to Panera? Go get some Campbells? NO! Because I’m still in my pajamas and I don’t want to go!

I don’t know the first thing about making soup. TRUST ME. But I do know this, it’s liquidy and you don’t have to chew it. So I figured if I blended something long enough it would become soup 🙂 I told you, only simple thoughts coming from this blog…

After some exploring of the barren fridge I landed some carrots, celery, onion & garlic. Bingo. My bag of dryish, thick skinned organic carrots were about to become a culinary masterpiece. Long story short, I spent no extra money on this dish.

The Recipe

And here’s how it (roughly) all went down, or as the french say, la recipe (resa-pee):

1. Chopped carrots, celery, onion, and garlic, saute together in butter until all soft.

Not rocket science. I didn’t even measure. Just keep the heat low enough that you don’t burn and maybe add a little water and cover for a bit. The steam of the water helps the softening go quicker without scalding and any leftover water residue in your veggies is no biggie, you’ll be adding water later anyway.

There was one of me for lunch that day so I used about 3 big carrots, 2 stalks celery, half a palm full of onion, 1 clove garlic.  

2. After sauteing, I placed all in my blender. Or was it my food processor? Or was it my magic bullet? Guess my point is, as long as it blends, I don’t care what you use. My one suggestions would be to let your sauteed veggies cool before you do blend them because one thing I do remember is a lot of warmth and sizzling and wincing on my part. And I will be purchasing a hand blender in the near future…

3. I then added about 1 cup water and set to blend. I then added more water until it was the consistency I wanted. 

Here’s the part where I was feeling REALLY adventurous. I knew I wanted my soup creamy so I added a little coconut milk. A splash, or for you organized people, “1/4 cup”. 

4. Once smooth I returned my pureed veggies/ water blend to the stove to warm again. Time for seasonings.

Let’s be honest, it’s all about the seasonings. I decided by the grace of God to use curry in my soup. That was not a mistake.

Few heavy dashes of curry for an exotic flavor, few dashes of chili powder for a kick, lots of cracked pepper and a little bit of garlic salt. 

Voila! Panera worthy, Bistro envy, SOUP!

Let’s give it up for the Iphone camera!!

Be inspired all! Don’t be afraid of the unknown! Even if that unknown is how to make your OWN soup! You don’t need a can. You don’t need preservatives or additives! Great tasting blended veggies are at your finger tips (or in your refrigerator’s “crisp” drawer).

Do away with the curry and carrots and add some milk, broccoli, potato and cheese for a whole other kind of soup!

Blend it all! In whatever order. Use a spoon, taste it, add more of whatever you want. Make it fabulous! Make it to YOUR taste. “But what does the recipe call for?” Let your taste buds be the recipe maker. Can’t wait to hear about your own barren fridge explorations 🙂

I look forward to making this soup by Riddle Love that uses chicken stock as the base. (I actually made my own chicken broth, was feeling UBER prepared that day) I’ve linked one way to go about it, but I think if you just boil chicken bones until the water turns brown you’re on to something 😀

Ingredients: 

3 large carrots

2 stalks celery,

1/ 4 cup onion

1 clove garlic

2 tblsp curry powder

1 tsp garlic salt

1/2 tblsp pepper

1 1/2 cup water (guesstamate)

One thought on “Curried Carrot Soup

Leave a Reply

