Mission Impossible: Cauliflower “rice” & Quinoa Crunchy Tacos

Since the day I met Rich, he has expressed to me a deep hatred for 3 things: Zucchini, Ke$ha and Cauliflower. The first I conquered long ago when I hid some zucchini in our pasta. The second is unavoidable. And the third, has officially been removed from the gag list and I am here to show you how 🙂

First I steamed and made mashed “potatoes” using half russet potatoes and half cauliflower. I covered in some slow cooked short ribs and watched my husband eat his poison (Sounds awful but my heart was in the right place). I waited until he was finished to tell him I had a secret. And guess what, he had NO IDEA!!!! Bahaha!!! Victory!

I was feeling pretty confident so I kept seeing how I might prolong my victory. Out of which, came the next cauliflower recipe:

Inspiration

1. Organic cauliflower ON SALE.

2. Health!

3. The challenge of my darling’s gag reflexes

Recipe- Cauliflower & Quinoa Crunchy Tacos (They were as delicious as they sound)

I’ll have you know this recipe is unintentionally gluten free and vegetarian and all organic 🙂

1. Cook quinoa per directions ( 1 part quinoa to 2 parts water, and make sure to rinse first!)

(I’m sorry I don’t have any step by step pictures for you as normal but I think most of it goes without showing. When I become as amazing as The Pioneer Woman, I promise I will take pro pictures of EVERY step 🙂

2. Cauliflower “rice”

– Disclaimer : I had no idea what I was doing with this. I read a couple options of how to make “cauliflower rice” , but I’m not really a “rules” girl so I just sort of made a mess and went for it.

3. Steam your cauliflower first. (I chopped and then attempted steaming and it was a mess)

4. After you steam your cauliflower, chop in food processor. Or if you have patience, by hand with a large knife.

5. Do this until it looks close enough to rice and you can fool your husband.

6. Add your rice into a saucepan on the stovetop where you can reheat and add your seasonings.

– Seasonings I added: cumin, garlic powder, salt, chile powder, lemon juice

Tortilla Shells

I didn’t know what a “soft” taco was until I was about 11 and my friend ordered one at Taco Bell. My parents always made us homemade “crunchy” tacos and it’s all I knew. Rightfully so! Homemade fried tortilla taco shells are one of life’s joys. While they are super easy to accomplish I failed to take photos of this process (it requires a lot of hands!) So I included this link to All Recipes to lead you in the right direction 🙂

1. As non-messily as possible, add your “rice” and quinoa, and cheese preference to your corn tortilla BEFORE frying. This will create a warm, melty, meddling of all the flavors.

2. Once fried, add the remainder of your toppings. We added black beans, lettuce, red onion and our favorite hot sauce. My avocados weren’t ripe yet 😦

Finished Product: 

And everybody said “Mmmmm”.

20130207-084543.jpg

 

And we do not leave many dishes without our very favorite hot sauce which added SO much to these tacos:

20130207-084940.jpg

 

Best part about these tacos was how light and non greasy they were! And surprisingly delicious!

The same ingredients would be great in a burrito or over nachos but it was all a great compliment to a nice crunchy taco shell.

Go try out your own cauliflower rice and let me know how it goes! I’m thinking we’ll try an Indian flare next with yogurt and curry and tomato paste.. Yum!!

I’ve also heard of people having success with CAULIFLOWER PIZZA CRUST!

Sky’s the limit I suppose.

Use what you have, keep it real, stay healthy 🙂

4 thoughts on “Mission Impossible: Cauliflower “rice” & Quinoa Crunchy Tacos

  1. I’m going to make these tomorrow night, instead of cheese I’m going to use nutritional yeast & stuff my vegan face! Thank you! This. Looks. Awesome. 🙂
    By the way, I love your accidentally vegetarian recipes. You rock Hilary!!

    • So I used *cough* veggie oil *cough*. Horrible I know. I would use coconut oil but you do need a substantial amount ($$) and the canola (I hate even saying it) adds the best crunch. And the oil inevitably gets a little bit in your taco but its not that intense. To play it safe you can fry your shell empty if the contents getting oily is too much of a problem. Frying it all together just helps it stay warm and the cheese stays melty without having to microwave it after 🙂 If you know of another oil that gives the appropriate “crunchiness” to things let me know! Coconut does not seem to do that job 😦

Leave a Reply

