Have a Ball

We need to talk about balls. Protein balls, power balls, raw balls, whatever you want to call them.

A few years ago I started buying some delicious and nutrient dense “power balls” from our local nutrition shop. I had no idea they were so easy to make and they have quickly become something I crave.

The variations you can do and the textures you can create are so addicting. And the best part is you are usually able to use up things you already have on hand.

Sometimes they hold me over as I run out the door in the morning, get a quick protein fix after a run, and even when I just need a quick healthy sweet tooth fix. Mmmmm they do it all and I’m obsessed.

The basic steps when dealing with power balls is:
1. Mix 2. Form 3. Cool 4. Eat.

So easy and sometimes you can skip step 3! I will share just a few variations that I love but feel free to get creative and see what you come up with!!


Raw Chocolate Peanut butter Balls

20130314-131016.jpg

While I usually don’t measure, I will throw a bone to the OCD people out there 🙂

Ingredients
5 Dates (Pit them first! I found a good deal on dates at our Trader Joes)
1/2 cup Cashews (I usually have these on hand thanks to our vegan nacho cheese 🙂
1 tbsp Peanut butter
1 tsp Vanilla extract
1/2 tbsp Raw honey
1 tbsp Raw cocoa powder

Blend all ingredients in a blender. Form into balls. Depending on the size may make 4-5 balls. Modify recipe for more or less.

20130314-132314.jpg

I can’t even describe how delicious these are! And my, how they curb the sweet tooth! Hallelujah!!


Quinoa Bird Seed Balls

I call them that cause they look like bird seed. That’s all.

Ingredients
1 cup cooked quinoa, cooled
1/2 cup uncooked oats
2 heaping tbsp nut butter
pumpkin seeds
Flax seeds
Chia seeds
Cocoa nibs or chocolate chips
Honey

Mix all ingredients with your hands once quinoa has cooled. Let mixture cool again and solidify a bit. Once cool form into balls and let cool or sit.

These are a great post run bite. Lots of good stuff in there!

20130314-131635.jpg

Oat Protein Balls (Pb&J, chocolate chip or plain)

Last but not least is the easiest of the variations. With basic ingredients for your power balls that can easily include add ons.

20130314-132146.jpg

Ingredients
Uncooked oats
Nut butter
Honey
Flax seed powder
Add ons
Chocolate chips
Strawberry jam
Dried berries
Seeds

Blend all ingredients with hands and let cool. Once cool add more dry or wet ingredients based on mold-ability. Form into balls and let cool only if you have the patience to do so!! I cheat this step about 75% of the time.

20130314-132352.jpg

So go have a ball! Let me know what you come up with as you get creative!

4 thoughts on “Have a Ball

Leave a Reply

